To / For?

TO expressions:

  • Up to date
  • To my surprise, …
  • To the best of my knowledge, …
  • According to …
  • Apply to a university.
  • He reacted wellto my comments.
  • I object to staying up late.
  • I’m accustomed to working hard.
  • I’m not used to working on Sundays.
  • It’s very sensitive to cold weather.
  • To (for) me, it sounds good.
  • It’s interesting to me.
  • She was invited to a party.
  • I’m looking forward to hearing from you.
  • It’s a hundred miles from hereto Porto Alegre.
  • They raised his salaryto $1,000.
  • Don’t jump to conclusions.

FOR expressions:

  • For sure !
  • For God’s sake!
  • For example, …
  • For this reason …
  • For the first time …
  • For (to) me, it sounds good.
  • Apply for a job.
  • Any letters for me?
  • I feel sorry for them.
  • He left for home.
  • He works for a tobacco company.
  • I sold my house for 40 thousand dollars.
  • He charged 50 dollars for the translation.
  • I lived abroad for 7 years.
  • He’s very strong for an old man.
  • I’m looking for a job.
  • He received a grantfor studying medicine.
  • I want eggs for breakfast.
  • I wrote a check for $100.

More information on: http://pt.scribd.com/doc/2992554/English-To-For-Para 

Leave a Reply

