10 Americanisms… that infuriate the Brits!

1. When people ask for something, I often hear: “Can I get a…” It infuriates me. It’s not New York. It’s not the 90s. You’re not in Central Perk with the rest of the Friends. Really.” Steve, Rossendale, Lancashire

2.  The one I can’t stand is “deplane“, meaning to disembark an aircraft, used in the phrase “you will be able to deplane momentarily”.TykeIntheHague, Den Haag, Holland

3.  I caught myself saying “shopping cart” instead of shopping trolley today and was thoroughly disgusted with myself. I’ve never lived nor been to the US either. Graham Nicholson, Glasgow

4. Transportation. What’s wrong with transport? Greg Porter, Hercules, CA, US

5.  “I’m good” for “I’m well”. That’ll do for a start. Mike, Bridgend, Wales

6.  A “heads up“. For example, as in a business meeting. Lets do a “heads up” on this issue. I have never been sure of the meaning. R Haworth, Marlborough

7.  People that say “my bad” after a mistake. I don’t know how anything could be as annoying or lazy as that. Simon Williamson, Lymington, Hampshire

8. I’m a Brit living in New York. The one that always gets me is the American need to use the word bi-weekly when fortnightly would suffice just fine. Ami Grewal, New York

9. The most annoying Americanism is “a million and a half” when it is clearly one and a half mill ion! A million and a half is 1,000,000.5 where one and a half million is 1,500,000. Gordon Brown, Coventry

10. Having an “issue” instead of a “problem”. John, Leicester

Text adapted from: http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-14201796

Leave a Reply

